Posted in Personal & Opinion

A Change of Name…

…but not a change of heart.

If you’re a subscriber to this blog you’ll have noticed that today I changed the username of this blog and basically everything else. I’m still not done updating all the links so please forgive me if you click on something and it’s broken because I either forgot it of haven’t gotten to it yet. Either way, my username everywhere is now KeepYourGoodHeart to the exception of Twitter which is KeepUrGoodHeart because the original one was two letters too long… 😛

But why exactly you may ask? The reasons are both simple and complex, but in short I wanted an identity that is more personal. My previous name No More Hurting People Peace came from the sign Martin Richard was holding in his famous photo and I had chosen that name because that was precisely what motivated me to come here and spread a little love and insight in this uncertain world filled with so much hate. My heart is still there with Martin and his message but I guess I felt like I was hiding behind him (not that he’s a bad person to hide behind) instead of stepping forward myself and I wanted an identity that is more my own.

I had several things in mind, some were taken and some weren’t, but I still wanted something along the lines of my previous one. I’d been thinking about changing my username for quite a while but nothing seemed to ring quite right… It was only until I was rereading the articles on this blog and clicking on the links in them that four little words became etched in my soul; keep your good heart. At last it seemed right! It reminds me of the book The Outsiders when Ponyboy is told to stay gold.

keep-calm-and-stay-gold-ponyboy-4.png

Despite the name change everything else on this blog is still exactly the same. Nothing has been deleted or moved. I won’t change it either. I meant what I wrote back then just as much as I mean it right now. I’m still the same Meela! And on that note I should really finish writing the About Me page that I never got around to…

That’s all for now. I hope that you all stick around for wherever the journey will lead us next… Until next time, keep your good heart… ❤

Author:

Liberal Muslim, social justice and human rights activist, cat lover, author and fellow human.

One thought on “A Change of Name…

Leave a Reply

