Posted in Reblogged Posts

Why Rudolf Hoess Is Ruining My Theological Life

Although I am not Catholic, I agree with the points you brought up in this post. I too would be curious to know what would have ended up of his remorse because he only returned to the Catholic church on April 10th 1947 and was executed on April 16th of the same year, meaning he only really had six days to repent. Had he not been executed so soon afterwards the true depth of his remorse would’ve been apparent in light of the final words he wrote in his autobiography, “The broad mass of people will never understand that he also had a heart, that the wasn’t evil,” but I highly recommend the book “And Your Conscience Never Haunted You?” by a priest named Manfred Deselaers, you can get it straight from the Auschwitz museum website. It’s also noteworthy to mention that Rudolf’s grandson Rainer Hoess does much public speaking preaching tolerance so something like the Holocaust never happens again.

Inspire to Conspire

Currently I am taking a survey class on the Holocaust (or, more aptly referred to as the Shoah). In preparation for our first test, I was studying the lives of Nazi leaders more in depth as I tried to sort them all out, a practice which felt

Studying Nazi leaders

very strange. It was as if I were reducing the lives of people who killed the families of my Jewish friends into mere flashcards so I could make a decent grade. I digress, but as I was researching these Nazi leaders, I came across some interesting information on Rudolf Hoess, the commandant of Auschwitz.

Hoess was raised in a strict Catholic home and his father wanted him to become a priest. Hoess was against this, and began pulling away from the church. He formally left the Roman Catholic Church in 1922, the same year that he joined the Nazi Party…

View original post 1,061 more words

Author:

Liberal Muslim, social justice and human rights activist, cat lover, author and fellow human.

Leave a Reply

